The Children of the Corn Series

Children of the Corn (1984)
Everything you need to know about the Children of the Corn series

The Children of the Corn film series started in 1984 with Children of the Corn (1984), which was based on the Stephen King short story featured in his Night Shift collection. The film was a moderate success, but a sequel didn’t arrive until eight years later with Children of the Corn II: The Final Sacrifice (1992).

The franchise found an audience on the VHS market and an additional five direct-to-video sequels were produced from 1995 to 2001. A remake was made in 2009, and two other sequels followed.

What are the Children of the Corn films about?

A death cult full of children that worships the deity He Who Walks Behind the Rows kill adults, mostly in Nebraska.

How many Children of the Corn films are there?

There are 11 Children of the Corn films. Three of them are titled Children of the Corn.

When were the Children of the Corn films being made?

Between 1984 and 2020.

How are the Children of the Corn films connected?

Apart from the first two films and the sixth one, the series is very loosely connected, so there is no need to watch them in order. The films are mostly based on the idea of wicked children in a cult, rather than a coherent storyline. There are no actors or characters that connect the films, aside from Isaac, who appears as the antagonist in Children of the Corn (1984) and Children of the Corn 666: Isaac’s Return (1999).

What Children of the Corn film should I watch?

None of the films were a critical success, but if you are going to watch any of them, I would recommend the original, since it did have some pop culture impact even though it isn’t very good, and then Children of the Corn III: Urban Harvest (1995) and Children of the Corn V: Fields of Terror (1998).

Do I need to watch the Children of the Corn films in order?